Mt Albert by-election timetable

The timetable for the Mt Albert by-election is as follows:

Monday 19 December

Mt Albert electorate by-election dates formally announced

Thursday 5 January

Regulated period for election expenses starts day after notice of vacancy published.

Wednesday 25 January 

Writ Day

Governor General issues writ directing the Electoral Commission to hold the Mt Albert by-election.

Electoral Rolls close for printing.

Voters enrolled after this date cast a special declaration vote.

Thursday 26 January 

Nominations open for candidates in the Mt Albert by-election

Wednesday 1 February Noon Deadline

Nominations close for candidates in the Mt Albert by-election

Wednesday 1 February 4.00pm target

Mt Albert by-election candidates announced by the Electoral Commission.

Voting place and advance voting place details available.

Ballot paper printing starts.

Wednesday 8 February 

Overseas voting starts

Monday 13 February

Advance voting starts

Easyvote packs start arriving with voters

Friday 24 February 

Last day to enrol

Friday 24 February 

All political advertising ceases and election signs taken down by midnight

Saturday 25 February 

Election day for Mt Albert By-election

Voting places open from 9.00am to 7.00pm

Saturday 25 February 

Preliminary Results progressively available from 7pm on www.electionresults.govt.nz. Targets for release are:

by 7.30pm                      all advance vote results

by 9.00pm                      results from 50% of voting places

by 10.00pm                    results from 100% of voting places.

These are targets not guarantees. 

Wednesday 8 March       

Official Results declared (including special declaration and overseas votes)

Monday 13 March          

Deadline for applications for judicial recount

Tuesday 14 March 

Return of Writ by Electoral Commission naming successful candidate (presuming no recount)

Thursday 8 June

Deadline for Returns of Candidate Election Expenses and Donations to Electoral Commission

Last updated: 14 February 2017