Northcote by-election timetable

The timetable for the Northcote by-election is as follows:

Monday 9 April Northcote electorate by-election dates formally announced
Tuesday 17 April Regulated period for election expenses starts day after notice of vacancy published
Monday 7 May Writ Day
Governor General issues writ directing the Electoral Commission to hold the Northcote by-election
Electoral Rolls close for printing
Voters enrolled after this date cast a special declaration vote
Tuesday 8 May Nominations open for candidates in the Northcote by-election
Tuesday 15 May
Noon Deadline
Nominations close for candidates in the Northcote by-election
Tuesday 15 May
4.00pm target
Northcote by-election candidates announced by the Electoral Commission
Voting place and advance voting place details available
Ballot paper printing starts
Wednesday 23 May Overseas voting starts
Monday 28 May Advance voting starts
EasyVote packs start arriving with voters
Friday 8 June Last day to enrol
Friday 8 June All political advertising ceases and election signs taken down by midnight
Saturday 9 June Election day for Northcote By-election
Voting places open from 9.00am to 7.00pm
Saturday 9 June Preliminary Results progressively available from 7pm on www.electionresults.govt.nz.
Targets for release are:
by 7.30pm                      all advance vote results
by 9.00pm                      results from 50% of voting places
by 10.00pm                    results from 100% of voting places. These are targets not guarantees. 
Wednesday 20 June Official Results declared (including special declaration and overseas votes)
Monday 25 June Deadline for applications for judicial recount
Tuesday 26 June Return of Writ by Electoral Commission naming successful candidate (presuming no recount)
Friday 14 September Deadline for Returns of Candidate Election Expenses and Donations to Electoral Commission
Last updated: 15 May 2018