Ikaroa-Rāwhiti By-Election timetable

There are a number of defined steps that needed to take place for the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti by-election.

Date    

Event

Wednesday 8 May Ikaroa-Rāwhiti electorate by-election date announced

Wednesday 29 May                  

Writ Day

Governor General issues direction to the Electoral Commission to hold the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti by-election

Electoral Rolls closed for printing

Voters enrolled after this date must cast a special declaration vote

Thursday 30 May

Nominations open for candidates in the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti by-election

Wednesday 5 June -

Noon Deadline

Nominations close for candidates in the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti by- election

Wednesday 5 June -

4.00pm target

Ikaroa-Rāwhiti by-election candidates announced by the Electoral Commission

Voting place and advance voting place details available

Ballot Paper printing starts

Wednesday 12 June

Advance Voting starts

Wednesday 12 June

Overseas voting starts

Saturday 22 June

Delivery of EasyVote packs to those enrolled in the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti electorate

Friday 28 June

Enrolments close

Friday 28 June

All political advertising ceases and election signs taken down by midnight

Saturday 29 June

Ikaroa-Rāwhiti By-election held

Polling places open from 9.00am to 7.00pm

Saturday 29 June

Preliminary Results progressively available from 7pm on www.electionresults.govt.nz. Targets for release are:

by 7.30pm      all advance vote results

by 9.00pm      results from 50% of voting places

by 10.00pm   results from 100% of voting places

These are targets not guarantees.

Wednesday 10 July - noon target

Official Results declared (including special declaration and  overseas votes)

Monday 15 July                   

Deadline for applications for judicial recount.

Thursday 18 July

Last day for Return of Writ by Electoral Commission naming successful candidate (presuming no recount)

Friday 4 October      

Deadline for Returns of Candidate Election Expenses and Donations to Electoral Commission

 

Last updated: 01 July 2013