Register of Promoters 2014 General Election

Any individual or group who spends or intends to spend over $12,300 (including GST) on election advertising during the regulated period for the 2014 General Election (which runs from 20 June to 19 September 2014) has to register with the Electoral Commission.

The promoter’s name and address as shown on the register had to appear on any election advertisements published by the promoter.

The register shows for each registered promoter:

  • the name and contact details of the promoter
  • the name of the applicant
  • the names of persons occupying a position comparable with that of a director of a company where the promoter is not an individual or company
  • the names of the trustees where the promoter is a trust
  • whether the promoter is registered to promote the general election, the referendum or both, and
  • the dates of registration, amendments or cancellation of registration.

Promoters are listed in date order of registration.

Register of Registered Promoters

Name of the registered promoter Address of the registered promoter Name of the person authorised to make the application where the promoter is not an individual Names of persons occupying a position comparable with that of a director of a company where the promoter is not an individual or company Names of the trustees where the promoter is a trust Registration status
New Zealand Nurses Organisation (NZNO)

57 Willis Street


Memo Musa, Chief Executive Memo Musa, Chief Executive Not applicable Registered 6 May 2014
New Zealand Council of Trade Unions Level 7, 178 Willis Street, Wellington Helen Kelly (President) Helen Kelly (President) Not applicable Registered 8 May 2014
Unite Union 6A Western Springs Road, Kingsland, Auckland 1021 Mike Treen (National Director) Mike Treen (National Director) Not applicable Registered 26 May 2014
New Zealand Educational Institute Te Riu Roa (NZEI)

Level 13, Education House

178 Willis Street

Wellington 6011

Paul Goulter (National Secretary) Judith Nowotarski (National President) Not applicable Registered 9 June 2014
Engineering Printing and Manufacturing Union (EPMU) 7 McGregor Street, Rongotai, Wellington Bill Newson (National Secretary) Don Pryde (National President) Not applicable Registered 12 June 2014
First Union Incorporated 120 Church Street, Onehunga, Auckland 1061 Robert Reid (General Secretary) Syd Keepa (President) Not applicable Registered 19 June 2014
Public Service Association (PSA) PSA House, 11 Aurora Terrace, Wellington Richard Wagstaff (National Secretary) Mike Tana (President) Not applicable Registered 23 June 2014
Maritime Union of New Zealand Level 1 Waterside House, 220 Willis Street, Wellington Joe Fleetwood (National Secretary) Garry Parsloe (National President) Not applicable Registered 23 June 2014
Living Wage Movement Aotearoa New Zealand 35 George Street, Kingsland, Auckland Annabel Newman (National Campaign Coordinator) David Hall, Ivoni Fuimaono, Dr Siobhan Trevallyan, Jolyon White, Rev Brian Dawson, John Ryall, Sonya Clarke, Warwick Jones, Robert Reid, Muriel Tunoho (Governance Committee) Not applicable Registered 23 June 2014
Pitt Street Methodist Church 78 Pitt Street, Newton, Auckland 1010 Lynne Frith (Parish Superintendent) Eric Laurenson, Robert Va'ai, David Hines, Marion Hines, Ryan Stevens, Helen Laurenson, Hugh Dyson, So'onafai Va'ai (Leaders Meeting Members) Not applicable Registered 27 June 2014
Service and Food Workers Union Nga Tinga Tota 35-39 George Street, Kingsland, Auckland John Ryall (National Secretary) Muriel Tunoho, Barbara Wyeth (Co-Presidents) Not applicable Registered 3 July 2014
New Zealand Union of Students' Associations (NZUSA) 354 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6010 Daniel Haines (President) Daniel Haines (President) Not applicable Registered 10 July 2014
Dairy Workers Union 34 Harwood Street, Hamilton 3204 Chris Flatt (National Secretary) Brett Brown (National President) Not applicable Registered 22 July 2014
New Zealand Post Primary Teachers' Association (PPTA) 60 Willis Street, Wellington Kevin Bunker (General Secretary) Kevin Bunker (General Secretary), Angela Roberts (President) Not applicable Registered 22 July 2014
Financial Services Council Level 12, City Chambers, Cnr Johnston & Featherston Street, Wellington Peter Neilson (CEO) Peter Neilson (CEO), Dame Jenny Shipley (Independent Chair) Not applicable Registered 24 July 2014
Federated Mountain Clubs of New Zealand Inc 19 Tory Street, Wellington 6140 James Stewart (Administrator) Robin G McNeill Not applicable Registered 1 August 2014
Jill Whitmore 3 Thompson Road, Panmure, Auckland 1072     Not applicable Registered 4 August 2014
ActionStation Enspiral Space, 18-24 Allen Street, Te Aro, Wellington 6011 Nicole Skews (Campaigns Director) Marianne Elliot (National Director) Not applicable Registered 5 August 2014
Family First 652 Great South Road, Manukau City 2241 Bob McCoskrie Ross Wilcox, David Sharp, Mark Hunter, Warren Ridgers, Bob McCoskrie, Nick Tuitasi. Not applicable Registered 6 August 2014
New Zealand Aged Care Association

Level 8, Petherick Building,

38-42 Waring-Taylor Street,


Martin Taylor Simon O'Dowd, Max Robins, David Hall, Warick Dunn, Rhonda Sherriff, Malcolm Hendry, Ann Couglan, Brien Clee, Guy Gady, Gordon MacLeod Not applicable Registered 7 August 2014
Campaign 4 Change 6/60 Mill Road, Whangarei Muriel Newman Muriel Newman, David Round, Geoff Parker Not applicable Registered 18 August 2014
The Opinion Partnership 61 Ironside Road, Johnsonville, Wellington J L Third Owen Jennings Not applicable Registered 26 August 2014


Last updated: 01 September 2014