2017 General Election Timetable

The timetable for the 2017 General Election is as follows:

Wednesday 1 February Prime Minister announces dates for 2017 general election
Friday 23 June Regulated period for election advertising expenses begins
Monday 26 June Launch of enrolment campaign
Tuesday 22 August       Dissolution of Parliament
Wednesday 23 August Writ Day
Governor General issues formal direction to the Electoral Commission to hold the election.
Thursday 24 August Nominations open for individual electorate candidates.

Monday 28 August

Bulk Nominations
Deadline for registered political parties to nominate their electorate candidates.
Party Lists
Deadline for registered political parties to submit list candidates. 
Tuesday 29 August
Nominations close for individual electorate candidates.

Wednesday 30 August
2pm target

Candidates, advance voting place and election day voting place information released.
Wednesday 6 September Overseas Voting starts
Telephone Dictation Voting starts
Monday 11 September Advance Voting starts
Thursday 21 September
5 pm
Registration for telephone dictation voting closes 
Friday 22 September Advance Voting ends
Last day to enrol for the election.
Friday 22 September
Regulated period ends
All election advertising must end and election signs must be taken down
Saturday 23 September Election Day
Polling places open from 9.00am to 7.00pm.

Election Night
Preliminary results released progressively from 7.00pm on
Saturday 7 October Official results for general election declared
(including special declaration votes)
Wednesday 11 October Deadline for applications for Judicial Recount
Thursday 12 October
(later if recount)
Return of Writ showing successful electorate candidates
Declaration of election of List members
Last updated: 09 October 2017