About the electorate boundary review

The parliamentary electorate names and boundaries for the 2014 and 2017 general elections have been reviewed by a statutory body called the Representation Commission.

The Representation Commission is an independent body convened after every census and Māori Electoral Option to review and redraw the electorate names and boundaries. 

Members of the Representation Commission met from 16 October 2013 to make sure that the number of people in each electorate reflected changes in population and that electorate names remained relevant.

Process for making decisions on the electorate boundaries

Statistics New Zealand calculated the number of General and Māori electorates and population size for electorates following the census and Māori Electoral Option. The Representation Commission used these electoral populations and other statutory criteria to decide the electorate boundaries.

There will be 64 General electorates and 7 Māori electorates at the 2014 and 2017 general elections.

Each electorate must have approximately the same number of people to ensure equal representation.  The average electoral population is 59,731 people for North Island general electorates, 59,679 people for South Island general electorates, and 60,141 people for Māori electorates.

The Representation Commission released the proposed electorate boundaries for public comment on 21 November 2013.

The public were able to make an objection to the proposed boundaries.  There was also an opportunity to make a counter objection. Objections needed to be received by Monday 23 December 2013.  You were able to make an objection online or in writing. 

The Commission released a summary of objections on 14 January 2014.  Counter objections could be made to any objection received until 29 January 2014.  You were able to make a counter objection online or in writing. 

The Representation Commission finalised the electorate names and boundaries in April 2014 for the 2014 and 2017 general elections.

A full timeline for the 2013/14 boundary review is available here.

Representation Commission Membership

2013/14 Representation Commission members


Bernard Kendall

Government representative Hon Roger Sowry
Opposition representative Hon Pete Hodgson

Ex-officio members:

Chief Electoral Officer

Robert Peden

Deputy Surveyor-General

Anselm Haanen

Deputy Government Statistician

Vince Galvin

Chairperson of the Local Government Commission Basil Morrison
When considering the Māori electorate boundaries the membership will also include:

Government Māori representative

Dan Te Kanawa

Opposition Māori representative

Whetu Wereta

Ex-officio member:
Chief Executive of Te Puni Kōkiri Michelle Hippolite


Last updated: 12 September 2014