2014 electorate boundaries - key changes

Electorate boundaries for the next two general elections are fixed with boundary changes for 46 electorates, including an additional general electorate in Auckland.  20 General electorates and five Māori electorates are unchanged.

North Island General Electorates

The Auckland region increased from 23 to 24 electorates.  Key changes included:

  • Upper Harbour was created by drawing population predominantly from the neighbouring electorates of East Coast Bays and Helensville in the north and from Te Atatū in the south.
  • Kelston was created from the existing electorates of Waitakere, Te Atatū, Mt Albert and New Lynn.
  • The existing electorate of Waitakere was replaced as a result of the boundary changes to the Te Atatū and Helensville electorates and the new Kelston electorate.
  • Helensville lost population to East Coast Bays, Upper Harbour and Te Atatū and gained the western rural areas of Waitakere and New Lynn as well as part of Rodney.
  • Auckland Central lost population to Mt Albert at Westmere and Grey Lynn and gained population in the Grafton area from Epsom.
  • Mt Roskill gained population from Maungakiekie at Royal Oak and from Mt Albert at Sandringham and lost population to New Lynn around New Windsor.
  • Maungakiekie, lost population to Mt Roskill, and gained population from Tāmaki and Manukau East.
  • Hunua lost population to Botany in the Flat Bush area and at the southern end to Waikato and adjustments were made to the northern and southern boundaries of the Papakura electorate.

Other key changes in the North Island include:

  • Hamilton West lost population from the western rural side to Taranaki-King Country and gained population from Hamilton East and Waikato at Horsham Downs.
  • Tauranga retained the Pyes Pa area but there was compensatory adjustments to the Bay of Plenty electorate to include Omanu and Poike areas.
  • Rotorua  included Te Puke and the surrounding western area, which was transferred from Bay of Plenty.
  • East Coast included Kawerau and the coastal belt around Maketu from Rotorua and has lost population in the south to Napier.
  • Whanganui was extended north of Stratford and lost the coastal area west of Mt Taranaki to New Plymouth.
  • Ōhāriu gained Wadestown from Wellington Central and lost population at Korokoro and Maungaraki to Hutt South.  A second macron was added to the electorate name to assist with the correct pronunciation of the name.  
  • Hutt South includes all of the Western Hills, requiring an adjustment to Rimutaka, which gained Naenae from Hutt South.

The Commission made no changes to thirteen North Island electorates: Northland, Whangarei, Northcote, North Shore, Manurewa, Māngere, Pakuranga, Taupō, Tukituki, Wairarapa, Palmerston North, Mana and Rongotai.

South Island General Electorates

The number of general electorates in the South Island is fixed by the Electoral Act at 16.

Boundary change in the Christchurch area was required because of significant population movement from Christchurch East, Christchurch Central and Port Hills electorates.  At the same time Waimakariri, Wigram and Selwyn increased beyond the permitted electoral population limit. 

Key changes include:

  • Waimakariri lost population around Marshlands to Christchurch East and at Redwood to Christchurch Central.
  • Christchurch East gained population from Christchurch Central at Shirley and at Richmond, Avonside and North Linwood (which moves the Christchurch Central red zoned areas into Christchurch East) and from Port Hills in the Bromley area.
  • Christchurch Central, lost population to Christchurch East, gained population from Waimakariri and from Port Hills at Beckenham, Sydenham, and Opawa.
  • Port Hills gained population from Wigram at Somerfield and the Halswell area from Selwyn.
  • Selwyn, lost population to Port Hills, gained population to the south around Rakaia from Rangitata.

The Commission made no changes to seven South Island electorates: Nelson, Kaikōura, West-Coast Tasman, Dunedin South, Clutha-Southland, Invercargill and Ilam.

Māori Electorates

The electorates of Te Tai Tokerau, Tāmaki Makaurau, Hauraki Waikato, Te Tai Hauāuru and Te Tai Tonga remained unchanged.

The Commission made a minor adjustment to the boundary between Ikaroa-Rāwhiti and Waiariki, transferring an area, including the village of Tuai, into the Waiariki electorate.

The Commission has made no electorate name changes.

More Information

More detail on all of the 2014 electoral districts is available on www.elections.org.nz including the full Report of the Representation Commission 2014.  The report is also available for inspection at Registrar of Electors offices and Te Puni Kōkiri regional offices.

Last updated: 13 October 2014