GIS files of the 2014 electorate boundaries

Use this page to download GIS files for the General and Māori electoral districts (used for the 2014 general election). 

The General Electoral Districts (GED) and Māori Electoral Districts (MED) files are available for download in ArcGIS and MapInfo format at the bottom of this page. The files are compressed in zip format. 

The use of the GIS files of the 2014 electorate boundaries is subject to Crown copyright.  Content produced by the Electoral Commission is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand.  You are free to use, copy, publish or distribute this information without seeking further permission as long as you attribute the information to the Electoral Commission.  Interactive mapping of the boundaries can be viewed here.

To view the GIS files above, you need a geographic information system (GIS) installed. If you do not have a GIS, you can download software that can read these files.  The Electoral Commission does not provide support for any of these free viewers:

MapInfo ProViewer available from MapInfo (.tab) 

Supported platforms: Windows

ArcExplorer available from ESRI (.shp) 
Supported platforms: Windows, Unix, Linux

ArcGIS and MapInfo formats do not support the use of macrons.  Macrons have applied to the following electorate names:

  • Māngere
  • Ōhāriu
  • Ōtaki
  • Rangitῑkei
  • Tāmaki
  • Taupō
  • Te Atatū
  • Kaikōura
  • Ikaroa-Rāwhiti
  • Tāmaki Makaurau
  • Te Tai Hauāuru



Last updated: 03 June 2014