Ikaroa-Rāwhiti By-election Candidates Announced

Media releases Ikaroa-Rāwhiti By-Election

The Electoral Commission has released the candidate and voting place details for the Saturday 29 June by-election in the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti electorate.

Seven candidates are seeking election as the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti Member of Parliament, and 110 voting places will be open on Election Day.

Nominations for the by-election have closed, and the following candidates have been confirmed:

            Candidate Name


APPLEBY, Michael

Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party


Green Party



NIKORA, Te Hāmua


RAIHANIA, Na Rongowhakaata

Māori Party

WAIRAU, Maurice



Labour Party

“Now that nominations have closed, the Electoral Commission will begin printing and distributing ballot papers, to be ready for the start of advance voting on Wednesday 12 June,” says Robert Peden, Chief Electoral Officer.

“Ikaroa-Rāwhiti voters who will be outside their electorate on Saturday 29 June should vote in advance, because voting places will only be available inside the electorate on Election Day,” says Mr Peden.

Advance voting will be available from Wednesday 12 June for the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti electorate.

“Advance voting places are in many places throughout the electorate, and people can also vote at the offices of Registrars of Electors throughout the country,” says Mr Peden. “Full information about where, when and how to vote in advance is available on our website www.elections.org.nz or by calling 0800 36 76 56.”

Click here for a full list of advance voting places and election day voting places.