Mt Roskill by-election candidates announced

Media releases 2016 Mt Roskill By-election

The Electoral Commission has released the candidate and voting place details for the Saturday 3 December by-election in the Mt Roskill electorate.

Seven candidates are seeking election as the Mt Roskill Member of Parliament.  Three advance voting places will be available, and 22 voting places will be open on election day.

Nominations for the by-election have closed, and the following candidates have been confirmed:

Candidate Name Party
GOODE, Richard NAP
LEITCH, Andrew Democrats for Social Credit
NAUHRIA, Roshan NZ People's Party
PARMAR, Parmjeet National Party
SCHUSTER, Tua Independent
STRONGE, Brandon The Cannabis Party
WOOD, Michael Labour Party

“Now that nominations have closed, the Electoral Commission will begin printing and distributing ballot papers, to be ready for the start of advance voting on Monday 21 November,” says Robert Peden, Chief Electoral Officer.

“Mt Roskill voters who will be outside their electorate on election day Saturday 3 December should vote in advance, because voting places will only be available inside the electorate on election day,” says Mr Peden.

Advance voting will be available from Monday 21 November for the Mt Roskill electorate.

“There will be three advance voting places around the electorate, and those who will be out of the electorate during the voting period should contact the Returning Officer for voting options,” says Mr Peden. “Full information about where, when and how to vote in advance is available on our website or by calling 0800 36 76 56.”

Mt Roskill Advance Voting Places
Location Address Date Time
Mt Roskill Mt Roskill Library, 546 Mt Albert Road Mon 21 Nov - Wed 23 Nov 9am - 6pm
    Thu 24 Nov 9am - 7pm
    Fri 25 Nov 9am - 5pm
    Sat 26 Nov 10am - 4pm
    Sun 27 Nov 11am - 4pm
    Mon 28 Nov - Wed 30 Nov 9am - 6pm
    Thu 1 Dec 9am - 7pm
    Fri 2 Dec 9am - 5pm
Mt Roskill Wesley Community Centre,
740 Sandringham Road Extension
Mon 21 Nov - Fri 25 Nov 10am - 4pm
    Mon 28 Nov - Fri 2 Dec 10am - 4pm
Royal Oak CCS Disability Action, Yarnton House,
14 Erson Avenue
Mon 21 Nov - Sat 26 Nov 10am - 4pm
    Mon 28 Nov - Fri 2 Dec 10am - 4pm

On election day, Saturday 3 December, the following voting places will be open in the Mt Roskill electorate:

Mt Roskill By-Election Voting Places
Location Address
Balmoral Balmoral Scout Group, Pollard Park, 1a Waitomo Avenue
Epsom Epsom Methodist Church Hall, 12 Pah Road
Hillsborough Hillsborough Primary School, 18 Belfast Street
  St David's Church, 202 Hillsborough Road
  Waikowhai Primary School, 381 Hillsborough Road
Lynfield Halsey Drive Primary School, 106 Halsey Drive
  Lynfield Community Church, 35 The Avenue
Mt Eden Maungawhau School, 43 Ellerton Road
Mt Roskill Christ The King Parish School Hall, 288 Richardson Road
  Dominion Road School, 14 Quest Terrace
  Hay Park School, 670 Richardson Road
  May Road School, 504 Richardson Road
  Mt Roskill Intermediate School, 62 Denbigh Avenue
  St Giles Presbyterian Church, 1207 Dominion Road
  St John's Presbyterian Church, 422 Mt Albert Road
  Sunnydene Special School, 48 Smallfield Avenue
  Tri-Star Gymnastic Club Incorporated, 55 Arundel Street
  Wesley Intermediate School, 798 Sandringham Road
  Wesley Primary School, 24 Potter Avenue
Royal Oak Royal Oak Intermediate, 74 Symonds Street (Trafalgar Street entrance)
  Royal Oak Primary School, Chandler Avenue (663 Manukau Road entrance)
Three Kings Three Kings School, 944 Mt Eden Road