An electorate is a voting district for parliamentary elections in New Zealand. There are two types of electorates: General and Māori.

Find out more about how electorates are calculated here.

Find out about electorate boundaries, and how and when they are reviewed, here.

Information about New Zealand's electorates, their boundaries and the people within them is available from a number of sources.

The Parliamentary Library provides detailed information about each electorate, including an outline map; recent election results, enrolment and turnout data; and a range of population statistics and demographic data.

A range of individual electorate and regional maps are available showing general and/or Māori electorates. These are available in pdf format from the Electoral Commission on request.

Up to date enrolment statistics for each electorate are also available.

Sections 35 and 36 of the Electoral act 1993 require the division of New Zealand into general seats between the North and South Islands. Section 45 of the Act provides for the Māori seats to be decided in a similar way. This division takes place after the completion of each Census and the following Māori electoral option.

The Representation Commission is the body responsible for this division.


Last updated: 09 May 2017